Renewable Heat Incentive.

The Renewable Heat Incentive (RHI) is the first government funded scheme of its type in the world, in the sense that it is the first long-term financial support programme for renewable heat. It’s an incentive from the government which is designed to reward people who use renewable energy to heat their buildings. This scheme was put in place to attempt to help us reach our goal of around 12% of heating coming from renewable energies.

  1. There are two phases of the scheme for this incentive: The first phase is for the non-domestic sector; the industrial, commercial, public sector and community organisations.AND
  2. One which is for residential dwellings. This one is expected to go live in 2014. The Renewable Heat Incentive will offer regular tariff payments for 7 years to people who choose to use certain technologies to heat their homes with. The amount of money which is paid depends on what technology is used to heat their homes, such as solar thermal water heating panels, heat pumps and biomass boilers (which use wood pellets, chips or logs).

Some of the technology which is eligible includes:

  • Air to water heat pumps.
  • Biomass – only boilers and biomass pellet stoves with back boilers.
  • Ground and water source heat pumps.
  • Flat plate and evacuated tube solar thermal panels.

The RHI is similar to the Feed-In Tariffs, which is a financial support scheme for people who create their own electricity. However, there are some massive differences between the two including:

  • This will be paid for by the Treasury rather than energy users.
  • There is no ‘National Grid for Heat’ so importing and exporting heat is irrelevant.
  • It will be introduced in phases, residential schemes will not be eligible until Phase 2, in 2014.

Written by Jade Turney – Building Tectonics Ltd.

New zero energy homes from 2016 onwards?

Some of you may already know this, but within the next few years the industry of construction within the UK is being given quite a challenge. It will become compulsory for all new homes built to be zero carbon homes.

There is a system which awards homes a ‘level’ based on how energy efficient and environmentally friendly they are called the Code for Sustainable Homes. Your home is assessed against certain criteria, and you are awarded a level from 1-6 with 6 being the highest level achievable. ¬†Which level you get awarded depends on how many of the criteria your home meets, the more criteria met, the higher the level you will get.We will explain what this code is and how you can reach the highest level in another blog.

From 2016 onwards, the government wants all new houses to be built to level 6 of these standards, level 6 is the highest of these standards and to get rated at this level, all of the new homes will need to be completely zero carbon to comply with this.

Here at Building Tectonics, we’ve been working with some new software on a project recently, and have been able to create a 3D model of a code 6 eco house we have designed for a client. We have created a short video which takes you around the exterior of the project.

If you’d like to view our first ever youtube video, then click here!

Written by Jade Turney – Building Tectonics Ltd.